CHAPPiE - Melbourne Central Movie Club Review

Blogged by: Melbourne Central 12 Mar 2015 View comments

In a world where crime has escalated to a point where specially designed military robots are required to help police fight crime and violence, one very special robot will stand out from the pack.
 
Deon Wilson (Dev Patel) is an engineer at Tetravaal, a weapons corporation in Johannesburg, South Africa, that designs and builds Scouts, the robots that have formed an essential backbone to the local police. While Deon is embarking on his 945th day of attempting to create a program to give his robots human intelligence, emotional capabilities and creativity, a blast to the titanium chest causes damage to Scout #22 and it is sent to be destroyed. By the time Deon rescues and reboots the droid with his new programming, Chappie – as he is named – has already experienced life as an outcast, but it won’t be for the last time. 



After a series of crimes, kidnappings and sneaky manoeuvres, Deon is forced to hand over Chappie to a rag-tag trio of criminals (played with total delight by Jose Pablo Cantillo and Die Antwoord’s Yo-Landi Visser and Ninja). Deon dreamed that his artificially intelligent robot would be creative, emotive and as close to human as any droid could be. His new captors have other plans for Chappie, though: they hope to teach him to be one of them, a gun-wielding "indestructible robot gangster number one" who will ensure they win in a fight against Hippo, Johannesburg's gang leader who has threatened their lives. What nobody counted on was for Chappie to become the son they never had (or wanted). And everyone who sees the movie seems to agree – it's impossible to not want a Chappie of your very own!



For Emily Jane, from our Movie Club, Yo-Landi and Ninja's music also proved a highlight:
"I don't usually enjoy action films with guns and violence but this one was an exception. It dealt with really interesting concepts like consciousness, immortality and morality and I was totally sucked in. Also the use of Die Antwoord's music (as well as having them act) was a definite plus."



Those two weren't the only cast members to leave a lasting impression: our own Hugh Jackman (who, you'll remember, visited us at Melbourne Central for the Australian premiere of 'X-Men: Days of Future Past' last year) plays the antagonistic former soldier who is distrustful of Deon and is single-minded in his goal for his inferior robot, called "MOOSE", to take over from the preferred Scouts in fighting violent crime.
 
"There was something oddly entertaining about this film," Movie Club's Wayne Pollock said, "‎Hugh Jackman going full yobbo with such great line delivery as "he's as smart as a dunny rat" really made the film for me."
 
Director Neil Blomkamp has made, in 'Chappie', a unique blockbuster about humanity, determination and family, that also offers a frightening look at what the police force could be with some very speedy developments in the near future – 2016, to be exact. It's campy and funny, action-packed and heart-warming. And totally surprising, every step of the way!

'Chappie' is released at HOYTS Melbourne Central from Thursday, 12 March, 2015. To score your own free tickets to future screenings, join the Melbourne Central Movie Club on Facebook and you'll be updated when a new event is taking place!

Tags

Join The Conversation

comments powered by Disqus
advertisement
GET AHEAD OF THE CROWD
GET AHEAD OF THE CROWD
Get the latest offers, event details and all that is happening in-centre. By signing up, you agree to our collection and handling of your information as described in our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy. You can opt-out of receiving our emails at any time.
Get ahead of the crowd and get the latest offers, event details and all that is happening in-centre. By signing up, you agree to our collection and handling of your information as described in our Privacy Policy. You can opt-out of receiving our emails at any time.
Opening hours
Christmas & New Years Trading Hours
Wed, 30 Nov 2016 - 10am - 10pm
Thu, 01 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Fri, 02 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sat, 03 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sun, 04 Dec 2016 - 10am - 7pm
Mon, 05 Dec 2016 - 10am - 7pm
Tue, 06 Dec 2016 - 10am - 7pm
Wed, 07 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Thu, 08 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Fri, 09 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sat, 10 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sun, 11 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Mon, 12 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Tue, 13 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Wed, 14 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Thu, 15 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Fri, 16 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sat, 17 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sun, 18 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Mon, 19 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Tue, 20 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Wed, 21 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Thu, 22 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Fri, 23 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sat, 24 Dec 2016 - 10am - 6pm
Sun, 25 Dec 2016 - Closed
Mon, 26 Dec 2016 - 8am - 10pm
Tue, 27 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Wed, 28 Dec 2016 - 10am - 7pm
Thu, 29 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Fri, 30 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sat, 31 Dec 2016 - 10am - 7pm
Sun, 01 Jan 2017 - 10am - 7pm
Mon, 02 Jan 2017 - 10am - 6pm
Level 3 - Dining & Entertainment (10am - Late)
Regular trading hours
Mon - 10am - 7pm
Tue - 10am - 7pm
Wed - 10am - 7pm
Thu - 10am - 9pm
Fri - 10am - 9pm
Sat - 10am - 7pm
Sun - 10am - 7pm
Location
Melbourne Central
Cnr LaTrobe and Swanston Streets
Melbourne VIC 3000
Phone: 03 9922 1100