Stanton Cornish-Ward

Blogged by: Melbourne Central 05 Apr 2016 View comments
Stanton Cornish-Ward
 
Stanton Cornish-Ward is a Melbourne-based fashion design practitioner, currently undertaking her honours year of her Bachelor of Design (Fashion) at RMIT University. She uses fashion design as a conceptual framework to examine and question cultural and social bias of clothing. Her work explores gender identity through the creation of gender-neutral garments, and uses aspects of psychology to analyse clothing as a form of emotional protection. Cornish-Ward uses installation and film to recontextualise fashion as a visual language.
 
Her fashion film, The Immaculate Reflection of an Impure World, won Best New Talent at the Copenhagen Fashion Film Festival 2016, and she was a finalist in Roma Web Fest 2015.
 
Stanton Cornish-Ward
‘The Immaculate Reflection of an Impure Word’
2015. Single channel video, 5:24 minutes.
 

White is a universal symbol of cleanliness. Objects that are expected to be clean, such as bed linen and towels, doctors’ coats and hospitals, are traditionally white. It’s a Western symbol of purity (white lilies, snow, moonlight), the empyrean realm (the absence of image, an absolute void), reflection, candour, surrender and an end to conflict.
 
White, however, isn’t only tied to the perfect, the divine and the innocent. In Eastern cultures it is the colour of death and mourning, the supernatural and unexplained. White is the colour of reincarnation, showing that death is not a permanent separation the world. Western culture, too, recognises the white of ghosts and the pallor of death. In the Last Judgment, Death rides a white horse.
 
For Kandinsky, white is the harmony of silence, and in music it shows the pauses that break: “It is not a dead silence, but one pregnant with possibilities.”

Tags

Join The Conversation

comments powered by Disqus
advertisement
GET AHEAD OF THE CROWD
GET AHEAD OF THE CROWD
Get the latest offers, event details and all that is happening in-centre. By signing up, you agree to our collection and handling of your information as described in our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy. You can opt-out of receiving our emails at any time.
Get ahead of the crowd and get the latest offers, event details and all that is happening in-centre. By signing up, you agree to our collection and handling of your information as described in our Privacy Policy. You can opt-out of receiving our emails at any time.
Opening hours
Christmas & New Years Trading Hours
Wed, 30 Nov 2016 - 10am - 10pm
Thu, 01 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Fri, 02 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sat, 03 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sun, 04 Dec 2016 - 10am - 7pm
Mon, 05 Dec 2016 - 10am - 7pm
Tue, 06 Dec 2016 - 10am - 7pm
Wed, 07 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Thu, 08 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Fri, 09 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sat, 10 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sun, 11 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Mon, 12 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Tue, 13 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Wed, 14 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Thu, 15 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Fri, 16 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sat, 17 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sun, 18 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Mon, 19 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Tue, 20 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Wed, 21 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Thu, 22 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Fri, 23 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sat, 24 Dec 2016 - 10am - 6pm
Sun, 25 Dec 2016 - Closed
Mon, 26 Dec 2016 - 8am - 10pm
Tue, 27 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Wed, 28 Dec 2016 - 10am - 7pm
Thu, 29 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Fri, 30 Dec 2016 - 10am - 9pm
Sat, 31 Dec 2016 - 10am - 7pm
Sun, 01 Jan 2017 - 10am - 7pm
Mon, 02 Jan 2017 - 10am - 6pm
Level 3 - Dining & Entertainment (10am - Late)
Regular trading hours
Mon - 10am - 7pm
Tue - 10am - 7pm
Wed - 10am - 7pm
Thu - 10am - 9pm
Fri - 10am - 9pm
Sat - 10am - 7pm
Sun - 10am - 7pm
Location
Melbourne Central
Cnr LaTrobe and Swanston Streets
Melbourne VIC 3000
Phone: 03 9922 1100